…Through the virtue of training, Enlighten both body and soul — Morihei Sensei

60 Mile Ride, Warrior Training?

Yesterday I was scouting out a new 60 mile bicycle route for the Crew.  What was supposed to be a ride punctuated with map checks, became a mini Warrior-Up session.  This weekend I finished installing a new wheelset, exchanged my 8-speed Hyperglide for a 9-speed, new chain, new rear shift cable, and adjusted my bar-end shifters for the new set-up.  Saturday night all seemed well.

Everything started out well enough.  The route starts out the first 10-15 miles or so sharing the same roads of other routes we ride.  I had to conduct a couple of map checks, to verify intersections, etc., but all was well.

Before the halfway point, my front derailleur stopped shifting to the big chain ring.  I made a pit stop in Rutledge, GA, made the field adjustments, and proceded. Then the front derailleur began dropping my chain to the outside.  Several roadside adjustments later, and I had that under control.

By adding time to the ride, my water began to get low.

Then, in the second half I couldn’t shift to my lowest gear.

Later in the second half, I couldn’t hit the #8 sprocket.

Then the #7 sprocket.

I stopped the check it out. Clearly a couple turns on my cable nut would square it away.  I succeeded in up-shifting to my 12 tooth #1 with a completely stretched out cable, and the one nut on the whole bike I couldn’t adjust with my new onboard multi-tool.

Warrior-Up time.

I had to ride it out like that, hills and all.

There were at least two hills I considered dismounting and walking.

Eventually, the school parking lot where my truck was parked was in sight.

It didn’t kill me.

I’m glad it happened–now.  We don’t want to have to Warrior-Up every training session.  Once in a while, we need a little extra suck–those sessions where one thing after the other, after the other, goes wrong to really test and stretch us mentally.

 

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Road to Ironman: Day 250 (trust the training?) « Old454 Blog

  2. Pingback: Race Report: Georgia Veterans Triathlon 2012 « Old454 Blog

Leave a Reply

