…Through the virtue of training, Enlighten both body and soul — Morihei Sensei

Slow Carb Update: 4 Months, 10% BF

I finished the Tour de Pike Century bike ride on Saturday.   Sunday, I took some weight & body fat measurements, and was struck by the result.  Hence this short update on my progress with the Slow Carb diet.

I began this slow-carb diet going into Thanksgiving, of all weird time frames.  Given the one cheat day per week, I simply shifted my chosen Saturday to Thursday for that week, no biggie.  The bigger hurdle was that I had to get on the road the evening of Thanksgiving.  Maintaining a diet on the road is not easy.  Tim Ferris has some helpful ideas.

The other immediate challenge was eliminating sugar from my coffee.  I drink coffee black with sugar.  Taking the sugar out was a HUGE leap for me, particularly in breakfasts meetings at restaurants with bad coffee.  In the end, it wasn’t and isn’t that bad.

The three biggest changes I’ve been able to stay fairly consistent on are a high, mostly protein breakfast right after rising, eating high protein meals for most meals, and eliminating sugar. Eliminating  other white carbs, though now greatly reduced, has been challenging.

The slow-carb model meshes well with my other diet protocols.

I also did a 30 day detox cleanse, which I calculate took five pounds of crud out of my intestines and cell tissues.  However, my body fat readings for that period were extremely screwy.  Two days later they stabilized, around 11-12 percent.

As mentioned (and perhaps revealed in the title), I took my body fat measurements this past Sunday, and registered . . . drum roll . . .  9.9 percent.  All last year,  I did not drop below 10, even coming out of Augusta 70.3 Half Ironman.  Whereas, the sub-10 may be the result of several concurrent protocols–slow carb, ongoing nutrition, detox cleanse, training regimen–The slow carb component is the one aspect I have not done or been on previously.

At any rate, I’m down to my fighting weight (top secret), and below 10% body fat (at last measure).  I’m lifting more, running better, and riding harder than I was going into Augusta last year.  Take it for what it’s worth.

–Jalal

Find me on Twitter — Twitter.com/Old454

As always, your comments are welcomed.

One response

  1. Pingback: Sub 10–Again! « Old454 Blog

Leave a Reply

