…Through the virtue of training, Enlighten both body and soul — Morihei Sensei

My Siestas — Polyphasic Sleep Quickies

I’ve been experimenting with polyphasic sleep, among other things in my preparation for the 2012 season and my new Ironman goal.

The one version of polyphasic sleep I’ve been able to implement with some consistency is the siesta.  Essentially, exactly what you expect, it is a short nap in the afternoon.  I look to carve out 20 minutes each afternoon between Noon and 2pm.  I’ll look at my watch, make a mental note of when twenty minutes from now is, and try to catch a quickie power nap.

Studies show that a single 20 minute nap in the middle of the day can knock down the total amount of sleep needed for the day.  In my experience, this assumes your not sleep deprived to begin with.

The problem is most of us are operating on a sleep deficit.  This is evidently my case, because though I haven’t sleep less at night, I have been waking up more refreshed and ready for the day.  I generally, roll of bed about 5:30am, on  a good day.  Now, I can get up fairly easily at my actual target of 5:00am.

Another, benefit is that if I’m indoors around 2pm, my productivity is usually terrible anyhow.  May as well catch a quick nap, and come out of it more productive and focused, instead of zombie-ing through the afternoon.

When I’m in the field the zombie thing isn’t such an issue, but it is nice to get home with energy in the tank.

Another contributor to this effect has been my reduction in consuming refined sugars and crap carbs, but more on that another day.

Siesta improves memory

Siesta improves brain function

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Slow Carb–First Look « Old454 Blog

Leave a Reply

