…Through the virtue of training, Enlighten both body and soul — Morihei Sensei

Day 12–Road to Ironman Florida

12 Days down–388 to go till Ironman Florida 2012

On the road this weekend, putting my slow-carb diet to the test on the road.  One advantage has been that one of the three days on the road is my cheat day, Saturday.  This also conveniently coincided with the team dinner (Golden Coral, one restaurant not on my favorite list).  We also had an immediately post-game meal at Sweet Bones Alabama (the food was actually outstanding), which fit into the slow-carb model very well, but also was easier falling on my cheat day.

We also ate at Urban Cookhouse before hitting the road home.   The food was good, and definitely compatible with slow-carb, but for a little bit more money, I would opt for Sweet Bones Alabama.

Free hotel breakfasts are always tough if you’re trying to avoid a bunch of cheap carbs.  I usually opt for extra helpings of whatever they have for eggs.  This time the eggs had ham each day, so i went for the boiled eggs, fruit, and yogurt.  The fruit is a minor slow-carb violation.  Yogurt is always a good hotel breakfast option.

Training on the road is another challenge.  I’ve switched my off-day to Sunday.  Sunday used to be my long run day, but upon inspection, it makes more sense as an off-day:   A)  I go into the next training week with an actual day of rest between, B)  I can double down on the rest effect, with say Friday as an off day, I still have the stress of a workday, and all the other weekday scheduling, negating a portion of the offness.

Thus, I only had to plan training around one or two days of travel, instead of the entire stretch.  I ran 3 miles or so yesterday, using Google Maps to plot my route.  This is usually a pretty good option, helpful for determining whether certain routes are navigable in unknown cities.  Sometimes I do find myself running through unsavory parts of town, but have never had any problems.

I’m in a heavy lifting phase in the gym, so will be getting back on that horse this week.

Also, getting ramped up for the “From 5k to 50k in 12 Weeks” training plan.  I’m not quite into the 12 weeks yet, still in like week zero.  Once I get fully adjusted to lifting and speedwork,  plus a couple of races under my belt, we’ll know how well that is working.

.

–Jalal

Find me on Twitter at Twitter.com/Old454

Comments are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

