…Through the virtue of training, Enlighten both body and soul — Morihei Sensei

Road to Ironman: Day 1

Yesterday was the first training day on my road to Ironman Florida 2012 (3 November 2012).  Day 1 of 400–399 days to go.  I kicked it off with 200m repeats at the local high school track.

The last day of my 2011 season was the day of my Augusta 70.3.  Since then I’ve been in a serious recovery mode.  I suspected, and now definitely realize, that I was severely over-trained post-Augusta–Potentially, on the road to chronic fatigue.  My weight going into the race had plummeted to levels I haven’t seen since I was actually starving.  Post race, I couldn’t get enough sleep for weeks, and my weight only creeped up following the race, despite very low training volumes.

However, I think I have definitely gotten past the over-trained state.  Recently my weight has picked up significantly, a sign my body is ready to train again.

I’ve been reading Tim Ferris’s newest read The Four Hour Body, and will be incorporating some of the ideas he presents in this coming year.  We’ll see how that comes along.  Namely:

  • The slow carb diet
  • My modified version of the the 5k to 50k program, and
  • Polyphasic sleep

On top of that I’ll be maintaining my strength program, and going into a 20 week program for the final push going into November.

Between now and the New Year will be a strength and conditioning phase.  Yesterday, my power cleans just exceeded my pre-Augusta levels (after 3 weeks).  My power lifts (squat, deadlift, and incline bench) are also back up to pre-Augusta levels, although it took 5 weeks for those.

With the New Year, I will begin Basing, and will divide the time between then and November equally into Basing, Speed, and Race Specific phases.

It should be interesting.  I am super excited.

.

.

Comments welcome below.  Also, find my on Twitter.

 

 

9 responses

  1. Like yr blog — want to read every word about your training. Polyphasic sleep? Over-training? Oh, you need some self-care with all that hard work …

    Wed, 30 Nov 2011 at 1331

    • Thanks. Irony is, this all is actually self-care! Whereas, my prior M.O. was to work myself into the ground all week long, now I work myself into the ground, and then top it off with training each day. However, now I have energy to spare in my off-time, and more off-time, where in my prior life, I would be dead until the next work day.

      Thu, 1 Dec 2011 at 0956

  2. I love your blog. Nice job. 🙂
    “Fail Harder” – Mark Zuckerberg

    Mon, 5 Dec 2011 at 1703

  3. Pingback: My Siestas — Polyphasic Sleep Quickies « Old454 Blog

  4. Pingback: Slow Carb–First Look « Old454 Blog

  5. Pingback: Day 157: Road to Ironman Florida « Old454 Blog

  6. Pingback: Turtle Crawl Olympic Triathlon, Jekyll Island: Race Report « Old454 Blog

  7. Pingback: 20 Week Ironman Training: Road to Ironman « Old454 Blog

  8. Pingback: Back in Stride Again | Old454 Blog

Leave a Reply

